Contact: Don Clippinger at (859) 963-5830

3/28/2008 - G. Wesley Jones, the counselor of Delaware Park’s Backstretch Employee Assistance Program, has been elected president of the Winners Federation, a coalition of industry members committed to combating addictions on the racetrack. He and other officers were elected at a meeting on January 31.

A licensed clinical social worker with an interest in substance abuse, Jones has been associated with the Delaware Park program, which is operated by the Delaware Horsemen’s Assistance Fund, since 2001. He previously served as the Winners Federation secretary since 2006.

Elected as vice president was BJ Cosson, vice president of operations and customer relations for the Television Games Network (TVG). Based in Beaverton, Oregon, he is responsible for TVG’s wager operations and customer relations functions. He has been a member of the Winners Federation board of directors since 2002.

Michael Bingaman, a chaplain and certified counselor, was elected secretary. He is the chaplain at Retama Park near San Antonio, Texas, and also the West Coast consultant of the Race Track Chaplaincy of America. Don Clippinger, editorial director of Thoroughbred Times Co., was elected treasurer. He was executive director of the Winners Federation from 2002 to 2006.

At a meeting earlier in January, the Winners Federation elected its board of directors. In addition to the officers, they are, in alphabetical order: Curt L. Barrett, professor emeritus of the University of Louisville School of Medicine; Remi Bellocq, executive director of the National Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association; Bill Borchardt, counselor for the backstretch employee assistance programs at the Maryland racetracks; Dan Fick, executive director and executive vice president of The Jockey Club; Peggy Goetsch, executive director of the Racing Industry Charitable Foundation in Illinois and immediate past president of the Winners Federation; Jim Greene, president of The Eighth Pole assistance program at Suffolk Downs and Rockingham Park; Peggy Hendershot , vice president of legislative and industry affairs for the National Thoroughbred Racing Association; Terry Meyocks, national manager of the Jockeys’ Guild; Dan Metzger, president of the Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association; Nicholas Salios, retired chaplain at Philadelphia Park; and Barbara Wilmes, former executive director of the Backstretch Employee Services Team at Aqueduct, Belmont Park, and Saratoga Race Course.

Show all news items

Home  |  Mission / Vision  |  About Us  |  Board Members  |  Donations  |  Contact Us
Copyright © 2019 Winners Federation, Inc. All rights reserved.